Measure 11—a referendum that was passed by Oregon voters in 1994—imposes mandatory minimum prison sentences on perpetrators of violent crimes. The law all but guarantees long sentences for certain violent offenses and limits the discretion of the court. If a criminal charge is made under Measure 11, the judge has no choice but to impose the mandatory minimum prison sentence, whether the offender has a criminal record or not.
At McNeil & Goldstein in Hillsboro, Oregon, we zealously advocate on behalf of clients who have been charged with Measure 11 offenses. Mandatory minimum prison sentences range from 70 months to 300 months. In addition to facing harsh sentences, Measure 11 offenders have very limited options. Convicted offenders are ineligible for early parole or receiving reduced sentences for good behavior.
Approximately 25 violent crimes are punishable under Measure 11, including:
- Attempted homicide
- Sexual abuse / assault
Experienced Criminal Defense Legal Team
If you have been charged with a Measure 11 offense, defenses are available. A skilled Oregon criminal defense lawyer can negotiate with the district attorney to take the case out of Measure 11. Even if we cannot get the charges dismissed, we may be able to negotiate a non-Measure 11 option in the best interest of our client. Our criminal defense team has over 30 years of combined experience. We will do everything in our power to defend your rights and protect you.
Contact a Skilled Oregon Criminal Defense Lawyer Today
If you have been charged with a violent crime, you need skilled and aggressive defense to protect you from a harsh mandatory prison sentence. For more information, or to discuss your specific case, contact McNeil & Goldstein in Hillsboro, Oregon. Call (503) 608-7850 for more information.